Road Collision at 65 Kilometers Per Hour // Clara Lynas

44526630_739657159715956_2134740922414399488_n
Art by Clara Lynas

If I sent you a poem in a small red envelope would that be too romantic?

What if I set it on fire?

(Is immolation still sexy?)

Half a sour in and a continent apart I tell you
I’ve never been calm in my life. You say
I’m a heartbeat an exhale a pulsing, twitching thing.

There’s a moment when you hit a deer with your car
when everything goes still. Then life is up again
on all fours and running into woods.
And you’re in the drivers’ seat waiting for CAA or AAA
or some other acronym to come to the rescue.

What I’m saying is, if you pit a deer against a
Two-tonne hunk of metal you’d be surprised
who comes out on top.

I tell you I could run head first into traffic and win.

 

***

Clara Lynas is a Toronto based artist and writer; she aspires to learn, grow, and live in love.

Leave a comment